Are you 'in the Cloud' or a 'Cloud vendor' ? What's the difference ?

Interesting little exchange with Ian Gotts from Nimbus (appropriate company name these days…) when I was pulling together a list of Cloud Vendors on Redux. I had a mental image of Ian waving furiously to attract my attention to the fact that they’ve been Cloud bound for 5 years or more but my argument back was that they’re a vendor “in” the Cloud, not a Cloud Vendor.

But then is there a difference ?

If you take the Wiki definition it states: “Cloud computing is Internet-based computing, whereby shared resources, software and information are provided to computers and other devices on-demand, like the electricity grid.”

Well, hardly helpful given there’s something like 70+ vendors on the list I compiled yesterday. It seems everything that’s not on-premise is treated as Cloud, but is it “in the Cloud” or being provided by a Cloud Vendor ?

To me, a Cloud Vendor is someone who takes your on-premise infrastructure and removed the client-side nature entirely and hosts it. I countered to Ian saying if he could host my office’s Microsoft infrastructure for me and provide me a cloudy solution then I could include him, but is that wrong ?

Or are the lines between “in” and “out” as wooly as the Clouds themselves ?

You tell me….

2 responses to “Are you 'in the Cloud' or a 'Cloud vendor' ? What's the difference ?

  1. Rather than try and make the clouds more cloudy or try and gate-crash your Cloud Vendor list, can I suggest a categorisation of Cloud Vendors that Salesforce.com uses. Infrastructure: these guys provide hardware, comms – so examples areVMWare, AmazonWebService which enablesPlatform: these are the hosted development enviroments – so examples are Microsoft Azure, Force.com, Cogheads (bought by SAP)….. which runApps: these are the hosted business apps – CRM, BPM, ERP, email – so this is where Nimbus Control fitsInterestingly if you, as a client, purchase a Cloud App then you get Platform and Infrastructure as part of the deal – but may not know who it is provided by. Nor should you care, provided it is robust, backed up etc etc.

Leave a Reply

