Who wants my iPad?

Having spent over a month with my new iPad (16GB wifi) I realise I don’t want it. `Sure it is sexy and cool. It gets you noticed and makes you feel special.  But like any grounded celeb will tell you, the novelty wears off quickly. I don’t want strangers, no matter how attractive, coming up to me and wanting to play.

But that is not why I don’t want it.  At work I am a ‘power user’. I write books and white papers, I give presentations, I tweet and blog.   So the bluetooth keyboard has made like immeasurably better.  But I cannot review and update that MSWord document I was emailed. I cannot quickly develop a presentation pulling pictures from my huge library of images.

So the iPad is great for short documents – email, blog, Twitter.  In fact I am writing this blog using the iPad and keyboard. It is perfect for consuming content such as browsing, listening to music, watching videos, answering email, tweeting, and even writing short notes and documents.  It works brilliantly at home as a crossover business/consumer device.  But you cannot do without a PC or Mac for business.

But what the iPad has done is realise what I REALLY, REALLY want.

Tablet 3.0 : It is a tablet with the same form function as the iPad with a high-definition touch screen that rotates.  But one with a ‘proper’ OS so I can run business apps, a large (60GB) solid state hard disk, a couple of USB ports, a separate bluetooth keyboard and mouse, ….  oh and a battery life of 8+ hours.

The last point is probably the most significant. The rest is just fun and sexy.  But spending every meeting trying to sit next to the power socket to charge my PC is a pain. Or running out of charge on a long flight or train journey.

Tthe separate keyboard means that it quickly moves from a full-on business device to a business-consumer device where touch screen input is enough through to a great consumer device.

Now there are some of you saying – just use GoogleDocs via a browser.  What is your problem? One word – connectivity.  Until we have free wifi everywhere then we will be hobbled by struggling to get a signal via a patchy 3G network.  And nothing kills productivity like waiting for a signal to return.

So who wants to swap my iPad for the Tablet 3.0?



3 responses to “Who wants my iPad?

  1. I recognize what you write and agree for the power user part. Some applications help getting more power: Dropbox, GoodReader, iWork Suite and Logmein. Google Docs as you write, helps only 1 third: only edit existing Speadsheets, and not able to create new ones. No creating docs and ppt! I believe the iPad at this moment in time is as you write a consumer product.

  2. What our company product is mechsanical component which is applicated by mobile phone and notebook,most of my working time,I need cad design and software simulation,so I am very clear know what kind of computer shouldI have,Ipad is good to play game and a short connection,but I think it is no use to somebody who have to design andco-work with it for a long time.

  3. I’m surised that you had to buy one in order to figure that out, it was clear from the moment the ipad was announced that it fell in between the function of a tablet and a smart phone. I didn’t buy one because for me the gap is to narrow to need to be filled. Good luck with your sale.

Leave a Reply

