Mobility inside the BPM scene

Interested in finding out the below, bit of a sense check actually.

  • How many BPM vendors have a mobile BPM solution based on Apple, Android or Windows Mobile ?
  • Now how many of you are still stuck with RIM and Blackberry in your own corporate environment ?

Practice what you peddle boys.

10 responses to “Mobility inside the BPM scene

  1. A company lagging behind in their mobile technology and using an outdated (IMHO) mobile provider probably isn’t pushing the enterprise envelope with their BPM/ECM solutions anyway, I doubt they think much about it. I don’t trust a skinny chef, if you catch my drift.

      • Theo, when I was at Progress they supported iPhone and Android from very early on for employee use, though there wasn’t a push to put any enterprise apps other than email/calendar/contacts via exchange onto the devices. Progress was quite aggressive in that regard, which was nice.

        My current employer is still doing an ROI on email… the jury is still out. (kidding)

  2. I think most enterprises still use BB for many different reasons and for quite sometime to come. Apple is making in roads (massive ones at that) but whenever I have been talking to in house IT and those that administer mobile devices etc. they still prefer using BB. There are still a lot of things going for BB in the enterprise – remember in the enterprise I dont need to support angry birds or the latest app that makes silly noises and security is a concern…Throw in build quality (drop a BB and its ok, drop an iPhone and you usually end up with something broken)

    As we get more “mobile” in terms of what work we actually do (and not just email) then the enterprise space becomes interesting. I think Apple will gain a little more traction (I see no place for Android at all – security will always be an issue) and in that case vendors will have to start supporting that device more and more. However, I think as a vendor I would wait and see what happens towards the end of this year. Microsoft has a real strong chance of changing the game and all these discussions – at least for the enterprise.

    Windows 8 arrives in October (probably) and that brings a single platform across all devices, mobile, tablet, laptop, netbook, desktop and even server. It has seamless integration with Office, Exchange, Lync, Office 365, share point and much more. This makes it very appealing to any IT manager in terms of cost and admin – let alone the reduction in calls to help desk for support on basic UI and features. Enterprises used to love Nokia for mobile, and I think they are still a fav. We must also remember that Dell, Acer, Fuji etc all make Win phones too, and they have a presence already within the enterprise, these are all well established supply chains. If I were an inhouse IT manager I would be looking to Win8 to make life simpler for me, and I would be looking to one of my established / preffered suppliers to deliver all my devices…..

    With this in mind, as a BPM vendor, I MUST support Win8 on the desktop, we know Win8 / 9 will end up on the majority of desktops within the enterprise – thats a given. So as a Vendor, I adopt metro and I am pretty much able to have my software run across anydevice, seamlessly synch those devices and become an obvious choice for businesses that allow their employees to work remotely / from mobile devices…I dont even have to go metro if the enterprise goes for tablets that support Intel chips (which I bet most will) and then you have the full support for all apps and software including legacy stuff written 20 years ago….And that software is more important than any app in the app stores of any platform…

    So to answer the question, I guess not many support Apple or Droid over BB, but I wouldnt get carried away as a vendor. Wait for Win8 and get deving for Metro and auto support all devices within the enterprise once you release ….

  3. This should hopefully open the eyea of these corporate giants who have heavily relied and are still dependent on RIM devices. Now is the time for them to start adopting the BYOD policy and force all their BPM and non-BPM apps to support mobile web more so now than ever before.

  4. Pingback: Life after RIM in the enterprise? « Andrew One Degree's Blog·

Leave a Reply

